Round 2 Team Announced

Thursday, March 9, 2017

Thursday, March 9, 2017

An almost unchanged team has been named by the Townsville Mendi Blackhawks coach Kristian Woolf for the round 2 clash against the Ipswich Jets this Sunday.

Injuries to forwards Sione Lousi (forearm) and Lee Jewitt (knee) are the only changes, so far, giving an opportunity for the very reliable and consistent 18th and 19th men from last week, Kieran Quabba and David Munro to come into the starting side.

Kyle Laybutt has been named, but will be monitored throughout the week.

“We know that it is always a tough battle against the Jets, especially in the forwards,” Woolf said.

“We need to stay focused and concentrate as a team on what we do well.”

Captain Anthony Mitchell is also set to play his 50th game for the black and green.

The game will be televised live on Channel 9 from 12.40pm.

Team: Townsville Blackhawks         Colours: Green & Black

Venue: Nth Ipswich Reserve, Ipswich v Ipswich Jets

Date: 12th March 2017, 12:40pm

  1. Carlin ANDERSON
  2. Paul BYRNES
  3. Temone POWER
  5. Jonathon REUBEN
  6. Kyle LAYBUTT
  8. Sam HOARE
  9. Anthony MITCHELL (C)
  10. Corey JENSEN
  11. Blake LEARY
  12. Andrew NIEMOELLER
  13. Shaun FENSOM


  1. Kierran MOSELEY
  2. Kieran QUABBA
  3. David MUNRO
  4. Oshae TUIASAU
  5. Ross BELLA

Coach: Kristian Woolf