Round 1 Team Announced!

Wednesday, March 1, 2017

Wednesday, March 1, 2017

Eight new debutantes will take the field at Bishop Park this Sunday, wearing black and green for the first time, in round 1 of the Intrust Super Cup 2017, for the Townsville & Districts Mendi Blackhawks.

Players debuting include young speedster Carlin Anderson, big men Sione Lousi and Lee Jewitt from the UK, Kierran Moseley and Oshae Tuiasau from the Gold Coast Titans, Blake Leary, Paul Byrnes and former North Queensland Cowboys Under 20’s Ty Carucci.

Coach Kristian Woolf is looking forward to seeing how his almost new team will mix with the familiar faces, in the 2017 season.

“There are a lot of new guys this year, which brings a new feel to the team,” Woolf said.

“Some guys are very unlucky to not be playing this weekend, but they will certainly get the opportunity to play over the coming weeks.”

“Overall, I have been really happy with how they have come together and how they have worked, it’s a long season, but I think we are ready to perform well in round 1.”

The Townsville Mendi Blackhawks first home game against the Mackay Cutters will be on Saturday, March 18 with the Under 18 Mal Meninga Cup team kicking off at 12.30pm, Under 20’s FOG Competition at 2pm and the main game kicking off at 4pm.

Tickets are available at the gate, Brothers Leagues Club Townsville Reception or

Townsville Blackhawks V Norths Devils

Bishop Park Sunday, March 5, 3.30pm

  1. Carlin Anderson
  2. Paul Byrnes
  3. Temone Power
  4. Ty Carucci
  5. Jonathan Reuben
  6. Kyle Laybutt
  7. Michael Parker-Walshe
  8. Corey Jensen
  9. Anthony Mitchell
  10. Lee Jewitt
  11. Blake Leary
  12. Andrew Niemoeller
  13. Sione Lousi


  1. Kierran Moseley
  2. Oshae Tuiasau
  3. David Munro
  4. Kieran Quabba
  5. Ross Bella
  6. Samsen O’Neill

COACH: Kristian Woolf