Dominant Eels claim Under 16 title

Monday, May 16, 2016

Story Courtesy of QRL Media


The Parramatta Eels have claimed the Under 16 National title with a dominant performance against the Townsville Blackhawks at Bishop Park this afternoon.

The Townsville side were on the back foot early in the game and the Eels were good enough to maintain the pressure for the entirely of the match.

It was Parramatta with all the running early and they started the match in the best possible fashion with Charbel Tasipale crossing for the opening points of the game. The conversion from Kyle Schneider gave them a 6-0 lead.

Townsville were made to absorb a lot of pressure and looked to get back into the game with a 40-20 kick – but nothing they did was able to be converted into points.

Parramatta were in for their second centre Asaeli Vuicakau scored after fullback JP Nohra proved hard to pull down and was able to get the offload away. The kick was unsuccessful from Schneider for a 10-0 lead.

The Blackhawks had their first real chance to attack when Parramatta dropped the ball in the in-goal and Townsville able to make their up to their attacking zone – but relieved the pressure when the kick through was too deep.

This proved costly – as the Eels capitalised in the right hand side with Cliff Lea’aetoa over.

Too add to the pain for the Blackhawks, the NSW champions were able to sneak in one more try before halftime – with Nohra (the eventual man of the match) crossing to get a try of his own; giving his side a 22-0 lead at the break.

In a good indication of the effort for the Blackhawks, it was a much tighter second half and they were able to earn themselves repeat sets. However, despite pressing hard to break the Parramatta line – they were unable to do so.

In a clear example that defined the game, Townsville had earned themselves a line drop put – but the Eels defence was able to hold them out and then turn that defence into attack with winger Lea’aetoa running the length of the field to score his second of the game.

The Eels were in again before the game was out with Dennis Mataia for a score of 32-0.

Despite the result, Townsville didn’t story trying and can be proud of their efforts this season having claimed the state title.

Head to QRL Live for the final team lists and full scoring details

PARRAMATTA EELS 32 (Cliff Lea’aetoa 2, Charbel Tasipale, Asaeli Vuicakau, JP Nohra, Dennis Mataia tries; Kyle Schneider 4 goals) def TOWNSVILLE BLACKHAWKS 0 at Bishop Park.

Man of Match: JP Nohra (Parramatta)