Narrow win sets Cyril Connell side on path to Nationals

Thursday, May 12, 2016

Following an absolute nail-biting Grand Final win the Townsville Blackhawks Cyril Connel Cup side are heading to the Junior National Finals with a renewed sense of confidence.

It was Souths Logan who started the better of the two teams in the final as they raced to an 18 point lead just prior to the half time break.

Coach Allen Petersen said it was Captain and man of the match McKenzie Baker‘s chip and chase right on half time that sparked the Blackhawks comeback and the Townsville side managed to even the scores up 18-18 with just four minutes left to play in the final.

The game then came down to a ruck infringement in the final minute as Blackhawks kicker Adam Cook calmly slotted the two points to give his side a 20-18 victory.

Petersen also praised his player’s attitudes and willingness to play for each as major reasons why the team were crowned Grand Final Champions.

This Sunday the Cyril Connell Cup squad will be taking on New South Wales’ Harold Matthews Cup Champions the Parramatta Eels in the National Junior Final. The Eels arrive at the National final after a similar narrow grand final victory after they pipped the Newcastle Knights at the post with a 16-14 win in Penrith last Saturday.

The exciting clash will kick off at 11:30am on Sunday and will be streamed LIVE on the QRL Livestream Page.


The Blackhawks have named the following players for the Under 16s National Junior Final:

  1. Mckenzie Baker
  2. Darian Lampton
  3. Martin O’Brien
  4. Kallum Dellacour
  5. Kade Banset
  6. Kelsey Hesp
  7. Adam Cook
  8. Quinlan Kelly
  9. Curtis Dempsey
  10. Hamilton Taia
  11. Isaac Locke
  12. Adam Whyte 
  13. Jacson Lott
  14. Cameron Bateup
  15. Jake Hindom
  16. Manfred Baboa
  17. Kieran Moran
  18. Mitch Fogarty