Battle of the halves in match of the round

Wednesday, April 13, 2016

The Townsville & Districts Mendi Blackhawks will round out three weeks on the road this weekend when they travel to Kawana Waters to take on the Sunshine Coast Falcons in the match of the round. The match will be screened live on Channel 9 on Sunday 17th April at 1:40pm much to the delight of the Mendi Blackhawks fans.

The Falcons have a four from six record so far this season just one win behind the Mendi Blackhawks. Their good form is evident in that two of their victories have been over table topping Burleigh Bears and the PNG Hunters in Round 3 and 4 consecutively.

The round 7 clash will see a thrilling battle between two of the inform halves of the competition in Michael Parker-Walshe and Ryley Jacks. Both sevens have been integral so far this season in directing play and creating chances for their teams. Jacks has followed a similar pathway to Parker-Walshe having experienced the NRL system playing under 20’s with Sydney Roosters and spent the pre-season training with the Melbourne Storm.

Coach Woolf has named the same squad who took to the field in PNG which will allow debutants Conor Carey and Brenden Santi another opportunity to push to keep their spots in the side. Changes may be made later in the week depending on player availability.

“The week presents another challenge against another quality side that is in good form.” Coach Woolf said.

“I know our blokes will be really keen to get back on track with a much improved performance this week after dropping our standards a touch against the Hunters last weekend.”



Round 7 Intrust Super Cup 2016

Townsville & Districts Mendi Blackhawks vs Sunshine Coast Falcons

Sunshine Coast Stadium – Sunday 17th April 2016, 1:40pm.

  1. Hezron Murgha

  2. Jonathon Reuben

  3. Noel Underwood

  4. Delouise Hoeter

  5. Conor Carey

  6. Kyle Laybutt

  7. Michael Parker-Walshe

  8. Glenn Hall (c)

  9. Anthony Mitchell (c)

  10. Corey Jensen

  11. Lona Kaifoto

  12. Rhyse Martin

  13. Lorenzo Maafu

  14. Nathan Norford

  15. Brenden Santi

  16. Willie Minoga

  17. David Munro