Winless Wynnum look to down Blackhawks

Thursday, March 24, 2016

The Townsville and Districts Mendi Blackhawks will face a difficult task this Easter weekend as they head into battle with a desperate and dangerous Wynnum Manly Seagulls. Wynnum are none from three so far this season and will be eager to turn that statistic around against a home side who have won all three of their games so far in season 2016.

The Seagulls boast an impressive roster including 2015 Player of the Year Patrick Templeman, former Raiders rake Mitch Cronin, hard man Brendon Gibb and experienced halfback Matthew Seamark; as well as Broncos allocations Alex Barr, Aaron Rockley and Salesi Funaki.

Coach Kristian Woolf welcomes back halfback Michael Parker-Walshe and will replace the injured Sam Hoare with Glenn Hall. Lorenzo Maafu will replace Hall at lock and the bench will include Nathan Norford, David Munro, Willie Minoga and Kieran Quabba. Woolf has named Lona Kaifoto and Hezron Murghas as 18th and 19th man respectively.

“Wynnum will present a very tough challenge for us this weekend. If we look past there results so far, I believe their roster is stronger than it was last year, and the corresponding game this time last year was certainly one of our most physical encounters all season.”

“I would expect Wynnum to approach this game the same way & to be desperate to kick start their campaign with a win over us. It is important we also are prepared to lift our intensity a level from last weekend and be prepared for a very tough and physical encounter.” Woolf said.

Tickets available online or at the gate. Intrust Super Cup kicks off at 4pm and there will be no preliminary match.


Townsville Blackhawks v Wynnum Manly Seagulls at Jack Manski Oval
Saturday, March 26 – 4pm           


Townsville Blackhawks

1. Jahrome Hughes 2. Jonathon Reuben 3. Moses Pangai 4. Delouise Hoeter 5. Samsen O’Neill 6. Kyle Laybutt 7. Michael Parker-Walshe 8. Glenn Hall (c) 9. Anthony Mitchell (c) 10. Corey Jensen 11. Noel Underwood 12. Rhyse Martin 13. Lorenzo Maafu 14. Nathan Norford 15. Kieran Quabba 16. Willie Minoga 17. David Munro 18. Lona Kaifoto 19. Hezron Murgha

Coach: Kristian Woolf


Wynnum Manly Seagulls

1. Daniel Ogden 2. Peter Gubb 3. Daniel Wallace 4. Mitchell Buckett 5. Jeriah Goodrich 6. Patrick Templeman (c) 7. Mathew Seamark 8. Magnus Stromquist 9. Mitchell Cronin 10. Stephen Coombe 11. Alex Barr 12. Brendon Gibb 13. Aaron Rockley 14. Mitchell Moore 15. Tim Natusch 16. Ben Shea 17. Salesi Funaki

Coach: Jon Buchanan