Blackhawks star at QRL Gala Awards 2015

Friday, September 11, 2015

On Wednesday 9th September the Queensland Rugby League fraternity descended on Brisbane’s spectacular City Hall for the 2015 QRL Gala Awards night. In a special evening celebrating the 20 year anniversary of the Intrust Super Cup the Townsville & Districts Mendi Blackhawks had plenty to celebrate in their first visit to the annual presentations.

Coach Kristian Woolf and Captain Daniel Beasley were called to the stage early in the proceedings to accept the John ‘Cracker’ McDonald Minor Premiership Shield. A huge achievement for the fledgling club in their inaugural year.

The celebrations continued as Jahrome Hughes (Fullback), Kyle Feldt (Centre), Michael Parker-Walshe (Halfback) and Daniel Beasley (Prop) were all named in the inaugural Intrust Super Cup ‘Team of the Year’.

The awards were a well-deserved reward for the players who have worked hard in their first season together as a team and as a club. Preparations now turn back to the Qualifying final this weekend.


Marmin Barba Winger and Jahrome Hughes Fullback – Intrust Super Cup Team of the Year 2015



Michael Parker-Walshe Halfback, Israel Eliab Five-Eighth and Joshua Chudleigh Hooker – Intrust Super Cup Team of the Year 2015



Dan Beasley Prop, Anthony Cherrington Second Rower, Mitchell Frei Lock – Intrust Super Cup Team of the Year 2015



Intrust Super Cup Team of the Year 2015 – Absent: Kyle Feldt Centre